Тамара Огородова

Tamara Ohorodova

Chairwoman of the board in Zaporizhzhia charity foundation «Unity» for the future»

Member of the three convocations of the Zaporizhia City Council – 1, 4 and 6 convocations.

Expert of Team Europe Zaporizhia on gender equality and local self-government, member of the Public Council at MFO “Equal Opportunities” of 8th and 9th convocations. Expert and trainer on gender budgeting.

Education – Dnepropetrovsk State University, specialty: finance, qualification: economist.

Tamara Ogorodova began her political career in 1991, when she was first elected a deputy of the Zaporizhia City Council of the 1st convocation. She was one of the initiators of the creation of the women’s deputy group “Nadiya”, which dealt with socially important and environmental issues.

At her initiative, after studying international experience in the United States and Canada (2004), the Women’s Crisis Center “Harmony”, HOSPICE, a shelter for homeless people and the Zaporozhye Charitable Foundation “Unity for the Future” were established in Zaporizhia. Head of more than 20 projects of the Zaporizhia Charitable Foundation “Unity for the Future”.

In 2012-2013, she managed a project to support women’s entrepreneurship in Vilnyansk. Since 2014, she has been working to strengthen the economic capacity of women affected by the conflict. In 2015, she led the Together We Can project on the training and career guidance of IDP women. In 2017, it conducted more than 15 self-employment trainings for women from vulnerable groups, primarily IDPs in Donetsk and Zaporizhia oblasts. From 2019 to 2020, she led the project “Support to Entrepreneurship of Vulnerable Women in Eastern Ukraine” in partnership with the Estonian Refugee Council. Thanks to the program, 77 women from Donetsk, Luhansk and Zaporizhia oblasts were trained in starting a business, and 5 teams received grant and mentoring support to start their own business. In 2021, as part of the continuation of this program, 179 participants were trained, and 24 teams from 5 regions (Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhia, Dnipropetrovsk, Kharkiv), including from communities along the contact line) received grant and mentoring support.